Broker comparison

Zerodha vs.
SBI Securities

Which broker fits your needs?

Platforms, products and fees side by side.

Checked on Thu, 5 Nov, 2026

See comparison

Summary

Your goal decides

With one lot per order, Zerodha charges less options brokerage (₹20 per order). Zerodha: The discount broker most active traders started with; Kite platform and free Varsity lessons. SBI Securities: Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot. Statutory charges such as STT are the same at both.

The discount broker most active traders started with; Kite platform and free Varsity lessons.

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

At a glance

The key differences

Criterion
PlatformsKite Web, Kite App, ConsoleSBI Securities app and web, TradingView charts, Options Arena
Product typesIndian Stocks, F&O, Commodities, Currency, Mutual Funds, BondsIndian Stocks, F&O, Commodities
Options tradingYes: NSE and BSE index and stock optionsYes: NSE and BSE index and stock options
Fee model₹20 per order on options · delivery ₹0₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan) on options · delivery 0.50% (Suvidha plan)
Account opening₹0₹0 (Suvidha plan)
Demat AMCFree in year 1; then ₹0–₹300 + GST a year depending on holdings (BSDA)Free in year 1; then the standard DP AMC (amount not stated on the plan page)
RegulationSEBI INZ000031633SEBI INZ000200032
More informationDetailsDetails

Platforms

Zerodha

Kite Web, Kite App, Console

SBI Securities

SBI Securities app and web, TradingView charts, Options Arena

Product types

Zerodha

Indian Stocks, F&O, Commodities, Currency, Mutual Funds, Bonds

SBI Securities

Indian Stocks, F&O, Commodities

Options trading

Zerodha

Yes: NSE and BSE index and stock options

SBI Securities

Yes: NSE and BSE index and stock options

Fee model

Zerodha

₹20 per order on options · delivery ₹0

SBI Securities

₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan) on options · delivery 0.50% (Suvidha plan)

Account opening

Zerodha

₹0

SBI Securities

₹0 (Suvidha plan)

Demat AMC

Zerodha

Free in year 1; then ₹0–₹300 + GST a year depending on holdings (BSDA)

SBI Securities

Free in year 1; then the standard DP AMC (amount not stated on the plan page)

Regulation

Zerodha

SEBI INZ000031633

SBI Securities

SEBI INZ000200032

More information

Zerodha

Details

SBI Securities

Details

Product access and costs depend on market, account and permissions.

Detailed comparison

Comparing fees

Compare total costs, not just the order fee.

₹20 per order on options · delivery ₹0

Options brokerage
₹20 per order
Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Free in year 1; then ₹0–₹300 + GST a year depending on holdings (BSDA)
See terms at provider

₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan) on options · delivery 0.50% (Suvidha plan)

Options brokerage
₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan)
Account opening
₹0 (Suvidha plan)
Demat AMC
Free in year 1; then the standard DP AMC (amount not stated on the plan page)
See terms at provider

The relevant costs depend on market, currency, order size and trading style.

Real costs

What 20 options trades a month cost

Zerodha

Brokerage per order
₹20
All charges, 20 round trips
₹1,252
Per year
₹15,027

SBI Securities

Brokerage per lot
₹50
All charges, 20 round trips
₹2,668
Per year
₹32,019

Illustrative: one Nifty lot (65) bought and sold at ₹100, 20 times a month, including STT, exchange charges, SEBI fee, stamp duty and GST. Use your own numbers.

Execution quality

Order type, venue and liquidity affect execution.

Check the provider’s execution policy and available order types for your account.

Provider information

Check the provider’s execution policy and available order types for your account.

Provider information

Product range

Indian StocksF&OCommoditiesCurrencyMutual FundsBonds
Indian StocksF&OCommodities

Categories come from broker profiles. Check specific markets and permissions before deciding.

Trading platforms

Kite Web · Kite App · Console

Option chain on Kite, opened from an instrument, a contract search or the charts section. Basket orders, including a basket mode on the option chain that adds several strikes to one basket for spreads and straddles. GTT (Good Till Triggered) orders are available for F&O contracts and stay active for up to a year. Margin calculator under Zerodha's utilities, and Sensibull integration for strategy building and position analysis. Kite Connect API: a free Personal tier for orders, GTT and portfolio, and a Connect tier at ₹500 a month that adds live WebSocket data and historical candles.

Explore platform

SBI Securities app and web, TradingView charts, Options Arena

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

Explore platform

Regulation & security

SEBI INZ000031633

Regulatory information

SEBI INZ000200032

Regulatory information

Regulation does not prevent market losses. The relevant authority depends on the contracting entity.

Your investor profile

Who might it suit?

The discount broker most active traders started with; Kite platform and free Varsity lessons.

  • Fast, stable Kite platform
  • Free delivery trades
  • Large free learning library (Varsity)
  • Some analytics tools are third-party add-ons
  • AMC after the first year for larger holdings

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

  • No account opening charge on the Suvidha plan
  • Options Arena for options trading
  • Per-lot options brokerage on the Suvidha plan
  • Other plans have different rates: read the plan table

Your questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Zerodha or SBI Securities cheaper for options trading?
With one lot per order, Zerodha charges less options brokerage (₹20 per order). Orders of several lots change the comparison, because per-lot brokerage grows with the number of lots. STT, exchange charges, the SEBI fee and stamp duty are the same at both.
Are Zerodha and SBI Securities regulated?
Both are SEBI-registered stock brokers and members of NSE and BSE.
Can I have accounts with both Zerodha and SBI Securities?
Yes. You can hold demat and trading accounts with more than one broker; each charges its own AMC.
Does the broker change STT or exchange charges?
No. STT (0.15% of premium on the sell side), exchange charges, the SEBI fee and stamp duty are the same at every broker. Only brokerage and account charges differ.

Your next step

Your next step

The discount broker most active traders started with; Kite platform and free Varsity lessons.

Open accountRead review

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

Open account