Broker comparison

Groww vs.
SBI Securities

Which broker fits your needs?

Platforms, products and fees side by side.

Checked on Thu, 5 Nov, 2026

See comparison

Summary

Your goal decides

With one lot per order, Groww charges less options brokerage (₹20 per order). Groww: India's largest broker by active clients; a simple app built for first-time investors. SBI Securities: Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot. Statutory charges such as STT are the same at both.

India's largest broker by active clients; a simple app built for first-time investors.

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

At a glance

The key differences

Criterion
PlatformsGroww App, Groww WebSBI Securities app and web, TradingView charts, Options Arena
Product typesIndian Stocks, Mutual Funds, F&O, Digital Gold, Fixed DepositsIndian Stocks, F&O, Commodities
Options tradingYes: NSE and BSE index and stock optionsYes: NSE and BSE index and stock options
Fee model₹20 per order on options · delivery ₹20 or 0.1%, whichever is lower (min ₹5)₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan) on options · delivery 0.50% (Suvidha plan)
Account opening₹0₹0 (Suvidha plan)
Demat AMC₹0Free in year 1; then the standard DP AMC (amount not stated on the plan page)
RegulationSEBI INZ000301838SEBI INZ000200032
More informationDetailsDetails

Platforms

Groww

Groww App, Groww Web

SBI Securities

SBI Securities app and web, TradingView charts, Options Arena

Product types

Groww

Indian Stocks, Mutual Funds, F&O, Digital Gold, Fixed Deposits

SBI Securities

Indian Stocks, F&O, Commodities

Options trading

Groww

Yes: NSE and BSE index and stock options

SBI Securities

Yes: NSE and BSE index and stock options

Fee model

Groww

₹20 per order on options · delivery ₹20 or 0.1%, whichever is lower (min ₹5)

SBI Securities

₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan) on options · delivery 0.50% (Suvidha plan)

Account opening

Groww

₹0

SBI Securities

₹0 (Suvidha plan)

Demat AMC

Groww

₹0

SBI Securities

Free in year 1; then the standard DP AMC (amount not stated on the plan page)

Regulation

Groww

SEBI INZ000301838

SBI Securities

SEBI INZ000200032

More information

Groww

Details

SBI Securities

Details

Product access and costs depend on market, account and permissions.

Detailed comparison

Comparing fees

Compare total costs, not just the order fee.

₹20 per order on options · delivery ₹20 or 0.1%, whichever is lower (min ₹5)

Options brokerage
₹20 per order
Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
See terms at provider

₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan) on options · delivery 0.50% (Suvidha plan)

Options brokerage
₹50 per lot (Suvidha plan)
Account opening
₹0 (Suvidha plan)
Demat AMC
Free in year 1; then the standard DP AMC (amount not stated on the plan page)
See terms at provider

The relevant costs depend on market, currency, order size and trading style.

Real costs

What 20 options trades a month cost

Groww

Brokerage per order
₹20
All charges, 20 round trips
₹1,252
Per year
₹15,027

SBI Securities

Brokerage per lot
₹50
All charges, 20 round trips
₹2,668
Per year
₹32,019

Illustrative: one Nifty lot (65) bought and sold at ₹100, 20 times a month, including STT, exchange charges, SEBI fee, stamp duty and GST. Use your own numbers.

Execution quality

Order type, venue and liquidity affect execution.

Check the provider’s execution policy and available order types for your account.

Provider information

Check the provider’s execution policy and available order types for your account.

Provider information

Product range

Indian StocksMutual FundsF&ODigital GoldFixed Deposits
Indian StocksF&OCommodities

Categories come from broker profiles. Check specific markets and permissions before deciding.

Trading platforms

Groww App · Groww Web

Customisable option chain with orders placed directly from the chain, and a Greeks view. Basket mode on the option chain for building multi-leg positions such as spreads, straddles and hedges. Stop-loss, GTT and target orders for managing exits. Required margin is shown at the bottom of the order window before an order is placed. Groww Trade API with order placement, GTT/OCO orders and margin calls; live data and option chain APIs sit on a paid plan of ₹499 a month plus GST (or ₹4,999 a year).

Explore platform

SBI Securities app and web, TradingView charts, Options Arena

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

Explore platform

Regulation & security

SEBI INZ000301838

Regulatory information

SEBI INZ000200032

Regulatory information

Regulation does not prevent market losses. The relevant authority depends on the contracting entity.

Your investor profile

Who might it suit?

India's largest broker by active clients; a simple app built for first-time investors.

  • No account or AMC charges
  • Very simple app
  • Payoff view on the option chain
  • Delivery trades are not free
  • Fewer advanced tools for option sellers

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

  • No account opening charge on the Suvidha plan
  • Options Arena for options trading
  • Per-lot options brokerage on the Suvidha plan
  • Other plans have different rates: read the plan table

Your questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Groww or SBI Securities cheaper for options trading?
With one lot per order, Groww charges less options brokerage (₹20 per order). Orders of several lots change the comparison, because per-lot brokerage grows with the number of lots. STT, exchange charges, the SEBI fee and stamp duty are the same at both.
Are Groww and SBI Securities regulated?
Both are SEBI-registered stock brokers and members of NSE and BSE.
Can I have accounts with both Groww and SBI Securities?
Yes. You can hold demat and trading accounts with more than one broker; each charges its own AMC.
Does the broker change STT or exchange charges?
No. STT (0.15% of premium on the sell side), exchange charges, the SEBI fee and stamp duty are the same at every broker. Only brokerage and account charges differ.

Your next step

Your next step

Bank-backed broker of the SBI group; on its free-opening Suvidha plan, options are charged per lot.

Open account